An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people choosing to have operation to change the way they look? Do you think this a positive or negative development?

Plastic surgery is gaining popularity in the world nowadays, attracting millions and thousands of individuals. The fashion industries which are in favour of certain standards of beauty play an essential role in provoking such phenomena, along with it, a highly competitive working environment could also derive people to make changes to their appearance to give a good first impression to interviewers. In my perspective, the negative effects derived from such trends will overweigh the positive influences, and the reasons will be enclosed in the following essay. To begin with, one of the cogent causes of the surge in the population who conduct cosmetic surgery is a international standard of beauty being promoted by celebrities and models in fashion fields, the majority of young individuals are consumed by such standards and try to fit in by changing their current figures. On top of that, a competitive environment in workplaces also enhances the demand for achieving a good looking, since it could help them to be outstanding among other employees. Especially in Korea, where the majority of young people admit that they have had cosmetic surgeries since they believe that people with better looks have more privileges in daily life as well as in companies. The proponents as I am see the situation as such in a negative way, based on various drawbacks, including a tidy sum of money people trade in for changing their outlook could lead to a personal financial deficit, which restricts their sources to be a competent person. Moreover, when cosmetic surgeries are introduced into people's daily life, it could cause anxieties regarding appearance and lower self-esteem in the younger generation. To summarise, it is inevitable that the number of people who change their look through surgery will continue to grow since the majority of celebrities and influencers continue value the single beauty stander, additionally, advantages people could gain from being a good-looking person. However, in my perspective, I see such trends as negative development due to financial concerns and mental health in societies.