Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree

In modern times, people are suffering from serious health effects due to the overconsumption of high-sugar-content foods and drinks. Many people believe that increasing the cost of such sugary products helps in reducing their consumption. I agree with the idea that making sweetened foods expensive hinter its acceptance, but healthier alternatives should also be made available too. Hiking the price of high-sugar items naturally forces the public to reduce their dietary intake which is really a boon to overweight people helping them to switch to better health choices. For example, imposing sugar taxes in the UK, South Africa and many more American countries has significantly reduced its consumption thereby improving the health of citizens. Moreover, It is proven that these artificially flavoured foods are the main cause of serious health problems like diabetes, heart problems, kidney malfunctions etc. Hence, it is true that increased price lowers consumption and thus helps to build a healthier lifestyle. Besides altering the prices, introducing more beneficial substitutes coupled with proper dietary education help the masses to choose their food wisely. Educating the public more about good diet practices makes them eligible in making more informed choices. For instance, packed fruit pulps can be made replaced with fresh juices and vegetables. Therefore, spreading awareness about healthy food choices along with more alternatives helps in decreasing sugared food purchases. To summarize, even though it is agreed that rocketing the cost of high-flavoured food products can affect their public acceptance, it should be complemented with better alternatives along with sufficient public awareness programmes about healthier diets.