In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often perceived that the older generation most likely spends their time in a nursing house. On some occasions, the government allocated its capital for the services. This essay will explain why families need to be responsible for taking care of the elderly, including financing retirement costs. On one hand, the elderly contribute the least to the government because they are already unproductive, making it difficult to prioritize the budget for this generation. It is worth considering that the government obtain the money from their citizens through a tax system, which required them to pay the annual tax according to their wealth and income. This is important because money has become a sensitive issue as societies will try to scrutinize how government allocated the budget. Alternatively, the money could be used for addressing more urgent cases such as giving aid to the poor, building schools in remote areas, and providing access to clean water in underdeveloped regions. Consequently, due to limited source, the government is unable to provide help for the elderly as the money would be better off in the hand of more vulnerable actors. On the other hand, families should be the one who are fully obligated to watch their parents or grandparents. This is because they know the elderly more than the government, which leads them to possess a moral obligation to take care of their family members. It is important to note that they live for so many years under the same roof, allowing them to build warm and meaningful relations. Additionally, even if the older generation needs extra care, at one point in their life they also did their duties to take care of their child, which means that paying a nursing house is a tribute to payback. As a result, the money from the family will be distributed as a gesture of kindness, instead of making it a pressure or burden. If families have limited budgets, I would argue that the children can go hand in hand to collect money to ease the process. In conclusion, the government should not be the one who helps the nursing house for the elderly because they contributed the least. Conversely, I remain convinced that families should be obligated to finance their older family members due to moral responsibilities.