Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

People have a perspective that learners should be allowed to choose their favourite subjects while others argue that universities should only concentrate on study programs that support their future jobs. I prefer the latter view. If students are able to learn subjects of their choice, they will have more passion and interest in their path of learning. Moreover, no one can predict what will happen in the future. Therefore people will not know which jobs are in demand. Thus learning a diverse range of majors may help them equip some useful skills for the forward path. For example, art and humanity classes will equip students with critical thinking, teamworking, and active learning strategy skills which will benefit them in the long run. In contrast, studying subjects related to each other allows them to gain more depth and job-focused knowledge and skills. As a result, they will increase their employment opportunities, have more chances to develop their career and better career advancement. For instance, companies can coordinate with universities to develop co-op programs which allow students to gain real working experience during studying time. In addition, the government can meet the needs of the marketplace and also easier to zone the jobs market through study programs. Besides, choosing a professional major in university assists the government in ensuring the human resource supply,which has suitable knowledge and skills, for the demand of the economy. In conclusion, even though there are many benefits to allowing students to pick their favourite subjects, I still support the perspective that learners should concentrate on useful knowledge for the future which can help them to have an easier and more advanced start.