The job market today is very competitive and it is best to choose a career or field of study early in order to get a good job later in life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A competitive market has led many people in believing that it is best for them to choose a career of study earlier to get a better opportunity later onwards in life. Though this might sound quite pragmatic, I disagree with the above statement for two reasons. Firstly, children are quite immature and have meagre cognitive abilities at an early age in their lives, moreover, they might not have a sense of development and reasoning towards a proper career path. This means that they lack the judgment of choosing a permanent path earlier in their lives. To illustrate this, research published by Harvard University says that over 65 per cent of students at an early age are confused and they keep on changing their ideas regarding what they want to become in the future. Next, pupils can always learn new skills and abilities later onwards in their life due to many short courses being offered and the market being penetrated for new job opportunities, such as IT. In simpler words, skills have become the new currency of the job market and they are available online or offline for a shorter duration of time. Furthermore, development in technology and science have left many universities with outdated syllabi and they can't keep changing their syllabus each time. To sum up, children can always choose a career later onwards, due to their lack of ability to abide by a career and decide what's best for them. Short courses have given many young aspirants an opportunity to groom their skills and reinvent themselves with better opportunities. Hence, In my opinion, I disagree with the above statement