Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they grow older

It seems argued that most parents provide their children with everything they desire and also grant them the liberty to carry out decisions without supervising them. This essay will discuss why I believe this is not an appropriate method of upbringing as it can result in overdependence and other menaces. One commonly cited benefit of buying children everything they so desire is that it raises their self esteem especially for kids who suffers bullying from peers and whose self confidence has been shattered through peer pressure. For example, in a study carried out amongst teenagers in a correctional institute in Lagos, Nigeria, it was found out that 90% of adolescents who suffer low self esteem were able to boost their confidence after showering them with gifts and giving them autonomy to perform various activities. In addition, most guardians allow their kids do whatever they want so that their kids can feel loved and trusted as most youngsters these days believe that denial of their freedom is a lack of trust from their parents. So most parents over indulge their wards as means of expressing their heartfelt love towards them. However, lavishing youngsters with luxuries and giving them undue permission can make them to become over dependent on their guardians as they would not be able to purchase basic necessities for themselves especially when they are matured to do so and are no longer under their parents tutelage. For instance, a child who is used to receiving expensive from his parents might not be able to fend for himself after the demise of such parents. Furthermore, if a child is not getting the luxury he is accustomed to, he may engage in dubious activities such as stealing, prostitution or gambling in order to meet up with previous lifestyle. In conclusion, I believe providing children with everything they need has it benefits. However, such practice can make young individuals to rely on their parents excessively and engage in shady activities when desires are not met.