Nowadays, children below 18 spend all their leisure watching television, is it beneficial or not, give your opinion.

It is a common practice these days for the young ones below 18 to spend most of their leisure time watching television. Although the act of watching television by these youngsters has great benefits one of which is making them creative, however, the over indulgence of this practice can have lots of negative effects on their mindset which outweighs the benefits. This essay will help expose these negative  issues in my subsequent paragraphs with examples and help bring it to a logical conclusion To start with, lots of merits exists on children's interest in watching television at their leisure one of most is the ability to broaden their intellect. An example is my neice who was exposed to cartoon channels very early in life as a form of distraction, she grew up always on this channel, and naturally developed foreign accent as she learnt to talk.  She was made to present a valedictory speech during their graduation last year, she was so  bold and in command of her English to the amazement of all parents at just 6years old However, despite this beautiful result, it has been recorded of the many negative vices resulting from over indulgence to television by these youngsters, many of which have led to serious negative impacts which have led me to the conclusion that the demerits outrank the merits. In my solution, I will advice that parents should activate and strictly maintain the parental guidance control on all their electronic gadgets. On the other hand, it has been observed that excessive exposure to television viewing by the young ones have recorded lots of negative life changing experiences at their very tender ages. Most parents who care less about the parental control activation have had their children exposed to phonographic and violent scenes. A very traumatic example was that of a family whose 7years old twin children were caught in the act of incest which was a result of what they watched. These young children were taken through rigorous therapeutic sessions to see how to remedy the evil act, however, the damage is done and will leave them and their parents with trauma all through life. I will like to conclude that though there exists merits in regards to watching of television by the youngsters at their leisure, it can only be seen that the overindulgence on this have more negative life impacting effects as have been  mentioned, so I maintain that parental control should be taken seriously.