nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, most countries improve their residents’ living standard through economic development, but the lost of some social values is posing an imminent threat to the society, thus putting a strain on society’s environmental preservation and heritage conservation. So from my viewpoint, I believe the disadvantages of the phenomenon outweigh the advantages. In terms of the environmental preservation, the overwhelming commercial activities are contributing to heavy pollution to both urban and rural areas. Although it is beneficial for governments to move industries and businesses into cities to increase their revenue and improve residents’ living efficiency, the air and noise pollution causing by construction and traffic have destroyed public’s mental state and decreased their sense of well-being. As to the suburan areas, it is common to see the polluted river and vanished farmland everywhere, with the lost of beautiful landscape occupied by the disposable plastics and industrial waste. In terms of the heritage conservation, the proliferation of the construction of tall buildings and transportation lines have destructed large amounts of historical sites, for example, many infrastructure facilties have been established on the local monuments unconciously, thus bringing huge losses to our cultural heritages. Moveover, if such behavior cannot be strictly restricted, the children will no longer aware of the paramount of protecting our precious cultural heritage and spirit, which may contributes to a vicious circle and irreversible consequences. In conclusion, due to the adverse impact on society’s environmental preservation and heritage conservation, I totally hold the opinion that the drawbacks of the sustainably developing economy outweigh the advantages of it.