While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the majority of schoolers opt for academic study leading to tertiary education instead of practical courses that allow them to embark on a technical job. However, due to insufficient competent labor force in relevant field, a group of people believe governments should lay greater emphasis on promoting vocational education. Personally, I completely disagree with this viewpoint. Supporters of vocational education might argue that due to serious labor shortage, employers have to pay additional money to recruit competent workers. This appears to be an opportunity for students to land a well-paid job after graduation. However, from a long-term perspective, it is not a wise choice since such technical jobs are repetitive, unskilled and physically demanding, which means that workers in these sectors are likely to be replaced by artificial intelligence in the future. I am firmly convinced that such poor job prospect cannot motivate most students to receive vocational training. Another reason why it is meaningless to encourage students to recieve practical trainning is that it is extremely difficult for technical workers to make a career move. The society is changing rapidly, and each year there are tons of newly emerging and lucrative industries which have drawn millions of working adults to experiment with a brand new career. However, those who can seize the opportunity to make career alternations most likley hold decent academic qualifications, as they are equiped with necessary specialist knowlege, soft skills and intellectual ability, all of which put them at a favourable position in the labor market. This is in stark contrast to unskilled technical workers, who can only become proficient at their own job field through years of repetition without developing relevant skills that allow them thrive in another sector. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that despite a lack of capable labor force, governments should not attach greater importance to vocational education since workers in relevant field are more likley to become redundant due to constantly improved technology and the nature of technical jobs will largely prevent their career move.