Proper function of prison is to punish criminals and life in prison should be hard. Do you agree or disagree?

An offender should be punished for the crime he commited that is what law says but in my view putting them behind the bars and to make their life miserable should not be the only motto of their punishment. Since it will adversely affect their mindset and they will not turn into a good person in society. Reasons for my belief is explained in the following paragraph. We live in a society which is ruled by the law and if any person that commits an offence ought to be punished. However, I believe that motive of a punitive action is to bring a positive change in a lawbreaker. Sometimes few persons are sentenced jail for a small crime but in jail they are ill-treated in jail. Not only they are made to wash clothes of their inmates but also beaten up by police for no reason. Niether they are allowed to make friends nor they can talk to family. This kind of behaviour with them is what inspire them to commit more crime in future as it fills them with anger. For instance, Dawood was caught in a case of street brawl, he was put behind the bars for six months during which he was tortured by police and other criminal which made him to kill persons including a head constable. If a person a treated well during his punishment period he might have a change of heart that can make him a good person. There have been measures taken up by few government regarding this. One of it's kind is that, a prisoner is allowed to study during his punishment period. This will not only help him to complete his study but also it helps him to get rid of evils within him. For example, Raju Pandey was allowed to complete his degree of Law and today he is a very well known lawyer who fights for rights of poor people free of the costs. In conclusion, though no crime should go unpunished, the severity of punishment should not make a person to fall in trap of crime world. Instead of punishing an offender harshly, they should be treated with harmony so they can become a good human being for society.