Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organisations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research is integral in the development of one's country as this helps in promoting quality health services, particularly in the field of health and medicine. Some say that it is the government's responsibility to fund and control scientific research as this ensures cheaper production and quality medicine, while others believe that private companies will do the opposite. I completely agree with this notion. Personally, I would argue that if private institutions are the ones that will solely operate it will be more expensive, whereas if government funded it has control over the pricing and the quality of produce. It is a known fact that many private institutions are capable to run scientific research, but it does not offer affordable effective medicines in the market. Although, companies, like Pfizer, Glaxo-smith, and Sinovac, are wealthy organizations capable to conduct research; most of them prioritizes profits over quality and affordable medicinal product. Therefore, the government should take the initiative to have control by creating policies and regulations over the control of such medicinal drugs. On the other hand, if the government will solely conduct scientific research this assured a cheaper market price and quality products. Since the studies are the government's responsibility they are not required to pay taxes or be accountable for any government payment to the required experimentation. In addition to that they have access to view and be articulate in the production process, which makes everything done in a proper way. In the Philippines, for instance, the Generica company which is funded by the government, their products are the cheapest in the pharmacy or any drug store compared to foreign brands. Hence, allowing people to purchase medicine without emptying their pockets. In conclusion, while it is certain that in most countries private institutions are more dominant because of their wealth to fund scientific research making high drug prices in the market. Nonetheless, it is fundamental if the government is held responsible to conduct scientific research as this enables them to have control over drug prices and quality products.