More and more people are using the internet to contact existing friends and even make new friends. Some people are of the opinion that this has strengthened relationships between existing friends, whilst others think the opposite is true. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there are a lot of people who are daily using technology for contacting other people, not only someone they knew but also, to make new relationships. There is a group of people who believe that the habit of meeting new individuals through the Internet makes relationships stronger while others think the contrary. The following essay shows arguments for both statements and I will give a point of view on why I agree with the first. Undoubtedly, change resistance is the key reason to opine that contacting friends throughout the net makes relationships. Normally, this kind of perspective is given to the elderly who do not know how to use the Internet properly. Additionally, they can not approve of new social trends because they tend to believe theirs are better. For instance, grandparents usually say to new generations how their epoch was the best and young people are “losing values”, instead of trying to understand the new technologies. On the other hand, distant relationships have always been here, new technologies like the internet, got to improve them. In addition, nowadays we can make more things in an easier way than before. Proof of this, it is possible to compare how unlike some years ago, when people sent cards to distant ones. For example, we normally send not only cards, but also emails, chats, photos, and videos and even we are capable of making real-time video calls. Consequently, people can communicate with each other in a better way and even make new contacts via the Internet. To summarize, the internet has allowed people to improve their relationships by making it easier to communicate between them. However, the change resistance and ignorance make some groups believe that social interactions have become weak than before instead of getting the benefits from it.