Sending criminals to prison is not the most effective method to deal with crime. Education and job training should be used instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Society has it's rules and those who break it are punished. However, some believe that prison sentences are not at all effective and instead, criminals should be educated and trained to reform them. In this essay, I will discuss why this point holds true in some cases and why it doesn't in others. Due to it's impartiality, condemning criminals to a prison sentences is not ideal. Prisons are be very harsh and unforgiving. Those who go there might not learn how adhere to rules and Instead, learn to fear them. A person sent to prison for a trivial crime, stealing a loaf of bread for instance, might be committed to a life of imprisonment when the action might not be so severe. Furthermore, once released, the same person would not be able to aclimate to modern society when they have been behind bars for a long time. Not only that, prison cells can be a large money sink. Governments have to invest large funds towards it's maintainence when it could be used for better infrastructure instead. Educating and training culprits is far more useful in reforming them and making them useful members of society. On the other hand, prison sentences are a useful tool in mainting order. Few actions are so heinous that there is no other alternative. Some criminals are so far gone that they would be a danger to society, for example a serial killer, and long punishement is the only way to keep others safe. Prison also remind others that actions have consequences and deter those who think of comitting a crime. In conclusion, prison sentences are not always pretty but are needed in cases where there are no options. However, these punishments should not be used as an way out and instead of banishing covnicts, we should try to rehabilitate them.