In many developing countries, there are major problems with the quality of air and water caused by both industry and construction. What are some of these problems? And what solutions could be provided to prevent this?

Industrialization has revolutionized human civilization ever since the dawn of time. As more countries try to catch up to their wealthier counterparts, the quality of air and water has suffered due to rapid construction. In this essay, I will discuss the effects of these issues on the environment and what can be done to avoid them. A worsening environmental crisis leads to a detrimental health problem for the public. Poor air quality makes it hard to breathe and unclean water gives rise to life-altering diseases. To illustrate this, a country like India suffering from lung-choking smogs has a high rate of respiratory diseases. Secondly, apart from the impact to human lives, environmental problems also affect crops and food. A field of paddy subjected to toxic air and water is unable to grow and either dies out or gives poor yield. Consequently, affecting the livelihood of many. Not only that, animals living in a polluted biodome die out, leaving behind a trail of carcases and leading to extinction. Impactful awareness is a key solution in combating these issues. The government should responsibly pass laws which curb the rampant abuse of raw materials by companies looking to abuse cheap labour in developing countries. An automotive factory, for instance, looking to set up shop in a poorer country should be subject to strict laws where their mistakes have severe consequences. Additionally, citizens should work together in cleaning up the environment. They should hold each other responsible and try to pick up the slack. The more vigilant we are, the more protected our surroundings are. To conclude, an ailing environment ruins us all and has unseen future effects. However, this can be avoided, if stringent laws are passed to curb these practices to help protect the environment and we make a team effort in preserving it.