Study shows that many criminals have low levels of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison, so that they can get a job when they leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

‘Have you ever dreamed of a safe country with no crimes?’ As the crime rate gradually increased all over the world, some people think that providing education in prison is the solution to low crime rates, while others are against it. In my opinion, I believe that teaching prisoners useful working skills and improving their social values can prevent them from going back to jail. Therefore, returning a safer and happier neighbourhood to all the citizens. First of all, poverty is the main cause of crime, people are forced to steal or rob if their biological needs are not fulfilled. Some of these thieves and robbers have no choice since they are too desperate for money. However, by educating them and teaching them skills to apply for jobs can help them get rid of poverty. For example, prisons in Taiwan teach their prisoners to bake and even open up a bakery especially for them to sell their breads and cookies. Prisoners earn a little money by themselves and start to set goals in the future. Secondly, offering education to correct criminals’ social values is also important. Some people made mistakes due to the low levels of education and moral standards. If all people get the chance to learn about right and wrong, their sense of justice and morals may prevent them from committing crimes. To sum up, a world with low crime levels is what everyone dreamed of. I believe by teaching working skills and social values in prison, criminals get a chance to break out of poverty and eventually lower the crime rate.