Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that those who manufacture goods and supermarkets should be responsible for reducing the amount of packaging of products while others argue that consumers should refrain from purchasing goods having a lot of packaging. In my opinion, it is the responsibility of the service providers to minimise packaging as much as possible. Quite a number of people feel that manufacturers and those big shops which sell goods must reduce the amount of packaging in the products they sell. This is because, besides contributing to a lot of pollution to the environment, a lot of packaging is an additional expense to the customer. For example, there have been published reports that empty food packages are contributing to more than 50% of unbiodegradable waste, while packaged foods are two times more expensive than unpackaged food. On the other hand, others say that buyers are supposed to avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging which is a very big challenge for most of them due to the fact that they have limited options. If the customers are stopped from purchasing what they need it will be a disadvantage for them. Regardless of their knowledge about the environment, they end up buying these goods whose expense has been increased due to packaging. So, customers are caught in between even if they want to conserve the environment. My point of view is that it is manufacturing companies should find ways of reducing packaging on goods such that they still maintain their quality. Although it might be costly for them initially, they will be profitable in the long run. To illustrate, some companies in the UK invested in different ways to reduce pollution by reducing packaging and it proved to be successful. In conclusion, while some believe that it is the people who do not buy products with a lot of packaging, I think it is the manufacturers who should change their methods.