In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As I walked by the department store which is near my home, I found the sidewalks are blocked due to a new and ongoing construction case. Some urbanists have faith that building new transportation facilities is the solution to crowdedness whereas some local residents might claim the government should focus on refining the current traffic systems. In the following essay, I would elaborate on both sides and explain why I side with the latter idea. On the one hand, the biggest merit of sustaining the original commuting systems can be the economical efficiency. For example, refilling a hole in old roadways can be completed in a short time and usually does not include buying more pieces of land, which is usually the highest cost of construction. On the other hand, some city planners might claim that the current traffic can not catch up with the needs of the development of society, thus, constructing brand new railways or creating a shortcut is a necessity. For instance, before the Taiwan High-Speed Rail was built, businessmen who lived in southern Taiwan needed to take massive time to travel to the north. As a result, production overheads increase to some degree as a whole. From a personal perspective, though creating a cutting-edge rail system might solve the problem of a lack of proper travelling measures, it can be over-designed sometimes when the assessment before the construction is not precisely made. To illustrate, many cities in Taiwan carried out a new form of a shuttle bus, which runs on a specialized railway, without a proper estimation of the number of tourists. Then the sidewalks became narrower and which in turn put the pedestrians in danger. Therefore, I believe maintaining the previous commuting means can bring more benefits to society instead of building new ones. In conclusion, although building new railways can bring some merits to society, it can bring detrimental impacts if it is not properly planned ahead. Hence, I believe it can be worthwhile to improve existing transportation.