Some people believe that living in an apartment instead of a university dormitory has many advantages while others say that it has many disadvantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in an apartment instead of a university dormitory.

It is true that there are many choices for students who would like to choose to live while they are in university at present, not only living in a university dorm. Even though this trend can be beneficial because they will have more freedom, the main disadvantage is safety which cannot be overlooked. On the one hand, one of the most important reasons why this is a positive development is that students would have more freedom since there are fewer regulations such as unrestricted time in and time out, more facilities and students can choose a roommate who has the same in common which reduce the arguments or misunderstanding to each other easily. For example, according to the latest survey conducted by Bangkok University, it revealed that 80% of undergraduate students tend to live in private apartments. Having said that, living in a personal apartment has more freedom which can be seen as an advantage. On the other hand, this development is thought to be disadvantageous in that apartments are less safe. This is because it will allow everyone entrance without investigation and this might have more chance to occur in the crime. To illustrate this, in recent news, it has been reported that 70% of crimes with undergraduate students happened outside of university areas, As a result, living in personal accommodation might have less security which can be considered a drawback. In conclusion, although this trend is beneficial because students will have more freedom, it can be detrimental as less safety for inexperienced people as students who just have been separated from their parents.