some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, there has been a large growth seen in the usage of smartphones among youngsters. There are a number of reasons behind this statement, which convinced me that it is more beneficial than negative. Both reasons and my view are elaborated further. In terms of reasons for this case, smartphones are becoming more popular among children mainly owing to the fact that the social benefits they provide. For example, smartphones open up the possibilities of communication, online gaming and shopping. Children can play different kinds of games over mobile for the entertainment purpose. Moreover, another reason for the popularity of smartphones is that they can increase the knowledge of pupils. It has developed social skills, which are so beneficial, such as communication skills, teamwork and many more without the restriction of distance. In addition, children can learn through the Internet by watching online videos and reading articles and books, which ultimately helps them with their studies. For instance, whenever they need to know about something, they can search it over the Internet and learn from that. Moreover, for those children who are Introverted, making friends in the real world is hard. So, they can use smartphones to make social friends through social media such as Facebook or Telegram. For example, I am introverted, and I used to make a lot of friends by joining Instagram, while I had no friends in reality. In conclusion, the usage of smartphones among youngsters is increasing day by day. I agree that the overuse of smartphones can be harmful, but if it is controlled, mobile phones can help children learning various skills.