As countries develop, people tend to buy more and more cars. Do you think the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Travelling by car has increasingly become popular in developing countries. However, this has both negative and positive effects on the individual and society. This essay will discuss the reasons why the outcomes continues to have a great impact on the environment. There are many reasons why people choose to own a car rather than using public transport. One of them is the comfort that comes with driving to work in your own car. Driving to work allows people to do what ever they want without worrying about distracting others. For example, they can listen to any music on high volume and sing as loud as they can. For this reason, most people are deciding to purchase cars for their freedom and comfort. On the other hand, the growing number of automobiles continues to create great damage to the environment. Research indicates that pollution has doubled in the last 10 years due to the increase of cars. This can be illustrated by observing the number of cars that families own. A family of five can have atleast 3 cars parked on their driveways. Secondly, traffic is another issue being faced by users. It is hard to get to work earlier than expected because of too many road users. Interestinly, even those who prefer owing a car are being affected by the congetion condition. To illustrate, workers need to allow about an hour travel time; otherwise, they are more likely to get to work late. Buying more cars has caused major problems on modern roads such as poor air and congetion. In summary, although there are number of advatanges to owing a car such as comfort, the disadvantages outweighs them all. An increase in cars has caused environmental problems such pollution and unbearable traffic jams.