Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community?

Nowadays, in many countries of the world, especially in developed countries, there are various social programs for people who have lost their jobs for some reasons. State hospitals provide such people with free medical care, state educational cents provide an opportunity to take retraining courses for free and receive a new sought-after specialty. As a rule, parents who have lost their jobs do not pay for kindergarten and for their children's education. These costs are payed by the government. Such people often receive a state benefit that allows them to maintain a good standard of living. Most of the unemployed find work after a certain time, but there are also people who live on benefits and subsidies from the state for years, because they are satisfied with this state of affairs. However, we must not forget that the state supports unemployed people at the expense of taxes that each of us pays. Should people who are looking for work and receive benefits from the state do some kind of volunteer work in order to give something back to society? My answer is – of course they should! In every city, in every district, you can find an area where the volunteer help of unemployed people will be in demand. They can do various jobs in public hospitals, clean rooms, take care of patients, etc. These volunteers can help government employees when cleaning streets or repairing municipal buildings. Volunteer help is always required in the centers for helping homeless people and animals, as well as at various parades, festivals and sports competitions. In general, there are many places where such work is needed every day. In my opinion, it will be right if people receiving assistance from the state will return something to society and bring benefits. Thus, the state, with the help of volunteers, will be able to implement even more social programs without additional costs for employees. From my point of view, this will contribute to the implementation of the principles of social justice and the strengthening of society as a whole.