Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Food processing and packaging have evolved over the years, this has had several effects on the ecological system. Plastic bags, bottles and packaging have, no doubt, had a negative impact on the environment. In this essay, I will highlight the adverse effects this has had on our surroundings and what strategies the government can use to mitigate it. Plastic materials are non-biodegradable. They retain their state after years of disposal, making it impossible for them to reintegrate positively into the ecosystem as would dead plants or animals. They thereby take up valuable space over time where ever they are discarded. For example, they take-up space in the drains if they find themselves there, clogging the drains and leading to flooding as is seen in Owerri, Imo State. It contaminates any environment it is deposited in. Their presence in rivers and oceans has created a great imbalance in the system, causing a decline in aquatic life. It also makes land unsuitable for agricultural purposes. The authorities can manage this by discouraging the use of these plastics where possible, this can be in the form of tax waivers for companies using suitable alternatives. For example, tetra packs can be used for packaging drinks, and paper bags used by malls for bagging wares. Recycling can also help limit the quantity in circulation. This can be by reusing the bottles and bags or by melting them and using as raw materials for other products. In summary, plastic bags, bottles and packaging are creating significant damage to the ecosystem, but the government can take vital steps to control it