Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals believe that the only reason for acquiring training on foreign language is to be able to migrate to and work in a foreign country.Others opine that there are more reasons to this view.It seems to me that there are more reasons why people should learn a new language, this essay will discuss both views and my position in detail. On the one hand, learning a language that is not a person's local language is essential in other to move and work outside their local environment. This language is needed so that people can easily fit into the new environment and to overcome communication barrier.As a matter of fact,it will be difficult for an individual to live and work in a community with a strange language. For example,if an individual from Nigeria decides to travel to China, such person needs to learn Chinese language so that he can communicate and relate well with his new neighbors. On the other hand,there are more reasons why people should learn new language. Firstly,it help students to retrieve useful academic informations that are written by foreigners on the internet. This means of getting acquiring academic materials can go a long way for students that are studying foreign languages in higher institution. Secondly, leaning a foreign language helps an individual to appreciate and respect other people's culture without the feeling of ethnocentrism.An individual with no knowledge about others languages may feel his own native tongue is superior and this may lead to discrimination. In conclusion, it is presumed by some individuals that people acquire a new language because they want to travel and live abroad.I think that learning different languages help people to appreciate others culture.It also assist students to get and make use informations written in foreign languages.