Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is argued that the leisure activities of children should be under control by their parents, while many people think that young kids should have the right to choose their leisure pursuits which they prefer to do in their spare time. From my point of view, I think each one has its own perks, and I believe the combination of both approaches can be beneficial for children. On the one hand, children should have a certain freedom when choosing recreational activities. Firstly, freedom in selecting a hobby provides children with a great chance to explore the world by themselves. Also, each of the children has their own unique characteristics, so they should be able to choose corresponding fields of interest. For example, those who are energetic and sociable may like team sports such as football, or volleyball, while the more curious and introverted ones prefer reading or drawing. Besides, there are some studies showing that when children spend their time independently, they will become more productive and creative, which is really advantageous in terms of finding their undiscovered potential. For instance, Mozart, a renowned music composer, only uncovered his hidden talent for music when he did them in his own time. Therefore, the freedom of choice to spend leisure time is extremely vital with regard to moulding and developing children ’s self, personalities, and creativity. On the other hand, it is not a good idea that parents to allow their children to do whatever they like unrestrictedly. To a certain extent, parents should organize and supervise their children ’s activities in their free time to make sure that they do not become spoiled. Because young kids tend to lose track of time on their hobbies and neglect their studies; if parents do not regulate what they do, it will be easy for them to waste an excessive amount of time on many ways of entertainment, as well as develop several bad habits. Furthermore, with accumulated knowledge and experiences, parents know what is best for their kids when it comes to children ’s development, so they can instruct their children to follow some beneficial hobbies, like playing sports or musical instruments. However, parental management should be maintained in moderation so children will not feel too restrained. In conclusion, although children should be able to choose what leisure hobbies to take up, their parents still supervise these activities of them to some extent.