As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current era, making money is no longer the sole purpose of enterprises. It is of an opinion that companies nowadays pay more attention to social responsibilities. Personally, I totally agree with this viewpoint. To begin with, being socially responsible bring numerous benefits to enterprises. The first benefit is enhancing their public image which enables them to gain a competitive advantage over their competitors. To be more specific, more organizations start focusing on environmental issues to gain the acknowledgement of the public and receive support from local governments in their business activities, which in turn leads to higher business growth. To illustrate, IKEA has launched a strategy which focuses on responsibly sourced renewables and recycled materials to protect ecosystems and improve biodiversity. Thanks to this policy, IKEA has become the leader in the furniture market. The second benefit is related to employees’ loyalty. In fact, when companies follow a socially responsible trend, there are three main pillars that they need to cover, including the environment, society and other stakeholders like employees. Therefore, those workers working in such enterprises believe that they will be treated as well as the way their companies are treating society. In other words, they may feel that their efforts and contributions would be appreciated and their future can be secured. For example, Telus has developed a meaningful and well-executed social responsibility strategy to attract and retain top talent in an increasingly competitive human capital market. In conclusion, being socially responsible will be a new purpose for enterprises around the world. I believe that this new trend will bring a great number of advantages to companies in terms of improving the public image and retaining employees’ loyalty which are crucial factors for their business performance.