With internet improvements, people can leave views or opinions on certain goods or services that they have purchased. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is an irrefutable fact that with technological advancements, there has been a drastic shift in the way customer review their bought products. Undeniably, with the introduction of internet facilities, the communication gap between the manufacturer and the buyer has not only diminished, but also improved their relationship. This essay shall further enlist the positive impact of clients reviewing and commenting about the products they have purchased or services they have hired, in ensuing paragraphs. To start off, social media allows the viewers to post their experience regarding myriads of goods they have shopped which further assists the potential buyers to make rational decisions such as, whether to invest in the rated product or not. Moreover, a high rating of commercialised utilities helps marketers to gain a good reputation globally where anyone could easily access the product's uses and performance, thus, promoting it and gaining a greater consumer base. To substantiate, popular websites such as Amazon and Flipkart not only permit the shoppers to rate and review each product they order but also, publically display it. Due to this, people tend to order high-rated products. Furthermore, product reviews and ratings make the producer or service provider more responsible. To elaborate, suppliers would become more cautious of the consequences in case they fail to provide a decent result and there is unfulfillment of consumer expectations. For instance, it would be natural to expect a plunge in sales and a decline in clientele following a series of bad reviews by the purchasers such as, in the case of Johnsons and Johnsons company. To clarify, a sudden rise in dissatisfaction and fewer ratings by the buyers of baby products post knowing the side effects of the company's newborn skincare range led to a steep decline in the overall market of the product. In conclusion, this could be ingeminated that there are numerous advantages of convenience to rating products online which involve making the shopper a rational buyer as well as benefitting the manufacturer by assisting them in earning goodwill. Also, at the same time, this facility makes the companies more responsible as well as accountable. Undoubtedly, it is nothing but a boon for the present as well as potential customers and manufacturers.