Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is often argued that to alleviate transportation issues and air pollution, governments worldwide can increase the price of fossil fuels. This essay strongly supports this method and will also suggest some effective ideas as follows. To begin with, increasing petrol prices would significantly make commuters think twice when they decide to go anywhere. In other words, this will encourage them to shift to mass transit or environmentally friendly vehicles such as bikes, or even walking. These means of transport all have the benefits in common: being able to carry many people at once on the roads without taking up huge space, hence lessening the pressure on road capacity and greatly reducing the number of toxic fumes emitted to the environment. Therefore, in the long run, this would not only help solve the problem of traffic jams, but will also improve air quality along with the overall well-being of individuals. As effective as it is, there are other ways which governments can consider to counter traffic congestion and pollution problems. That is, they can impose taxes on private vehicles in rush hours and give individuals carbon footprint records in transporting. The first solution would discourage individuals to use their private transport and switch to public transport such as buses and taxis. That way, they can contribute to the healthiness of the environment as mentioned above along with being economically beneficial. The second method can be done by giving households detailed reports of how much carbon footprint they have emitted in a specific period of time and giving them a lower goal to achieve. In addition, letting them know the reports of healthier records will give them a sense of competition, hence will make them strive toward using fewer fossil fuels and can lead to a substantial result on a large scale. To conclude, I definitely agree with the idea of leveraging the petrol price to lower traffic and environmental issues. Besides, I would like to suggest that taxing private vehicles in high times and encouraging households to compete in decreasing their carbon footprint are also effective to mitigate the mentioned dilemmas.