Somecommentators feel that grandparents should livetogether with theirchildren and grandchildren, while others say that elderly peopleshould beencouraged to liveindependently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

It is often believed that a joint family system should be promoted and children should live with their elderly, whereas some people believe that grandparents should live on their own. On the one hand, if aged people choose to live with their children, it can provide a positive experience for everyone living in the house, as they have a lot of wisdom and lessons to share which they learnt from their mistakes in the past. Moreover, as people grow old they need love and care from their close ones in the same way as they nourished their offspring with love. For instance, they need attention and care with their medication and appointments, as they grow old they tend to be more forgetful, and find it hard to do it all on their own. On the other hand, there are some old people who prefer to live by themselves, instead of living with their kids as they think it helps them stay active. In addition, they believe they can manage themselves and can do their daily chores especially when they are healthy and do not have any disability. Furthermore, they do not want to be a burden on their kids and want them to enjoy their independence and they love to be independent too. In conclusion, in my opinion, if any old person does not have a serious illness and disability like dementia, or paralysis and they are happy to live on their own, they should be encouraged to do so, but if the children think and believe it is causing more troubles than the peace they should warmly and happily welcome them to live with them.