With the rise of e-books come the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, it can be claimed that a growing number of countries experience a fall of printed books because of the electronic. On the one hand, there are a number of benefits of this process, but, on the other hand, there are some drawbacks and issues which must be discussed and solved. In this essay, both sides will be explained and supported with examples. First of all, speaking about pluses of the popularity of the digital books, definitely, they are manifold. E- books are more convenient in using, for example, they can be downloaded from the Internet and read for free, people can peruse it when they go to work, travelling or have a lot of free time, when they are standing in line. Besides, according to the statistics, electronic editions are better perceived by the brain and this kind of books are easier remembered. However, some cons should be mentioned. If a person read only the digital editions, it means that they must have a lot of problems with their health. An article, which was published in British journal, says that a large amount of time spent reading on the Internet has a negative impact on vision and posture. Moreover, the majority of people want to feel the book personality, for instance, the cover, the paper quality, colourful and bright images, fonts and the smell. In conclusion, increasing the popularity of the digital editions and recession the printed books can be both rewarding and problematic. Obviously, it is great that people can read wherever they prefer and do it for free, whereas it is terrible when a person is suffering all the time during his reading because of the health issues and non-diversity.