Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests comma and whether they are married or single. some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Undeniably, there has been a drastic change in the way job seekers are interviewed. Not only they are enquired about their marital status but also are asked to share their personal likings and leisure activities. One school of thought completely agrees with its relevance. However, another section of society opposes it and labels it as useless. I am in consummate accord with the latter view and assert that office interviews should be limited to the qualification and level of skill a person possesses. This essay shall further enlist both views and elaborate my opinion in the ensuing paragraphs. To embark upon, in order to achieve an organisational goal, the employee is required to be efficient and effective while performing tasks. Further, effective performance of a professional job requires adequate knowledge and application of proper technique. To clarify, there is no need to pay heed to what happens under the roof of a company's employee as it will only hinder his overall growth and progress. To substantiate, a manager asking about an individual's expertise would undoubtedly assist them to hire the right person for the right job rather than how many members his family comprises. In contrast, a part of society ponders that if an establishment knows the leisure activities that the potential employee prefers and whether he has a kid or two, they can take decisions accordingly. Specifically, they could easily relate that to the list of jobs available and appoint him accordingly. That means a person's liking and natural talents could be put to maximum use if he gets the correct job which would enhance his overall performance. For instance, if a person is quite a social being and is good at luring people, the interviewer can select him to perform a desk job or in marketing sales which will ultimately make him more confident and able to sell more products. In conclusion, I would like to ingeminate that although, knowing a person's personal interests would somewhat benefit the company in a way, a corporation must focus on more important traits such as the applicant's previous job profile, educational qualification and performance.