Many career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that professional disciplines are one of the mandatory aspects of the job market despite a great emphasis on teaching academic studies in many educational institutions. From my perspective, the benefits of the issue are greater than the drawbacks since these curriculums have positive impacts on students’ academic achievement as well as their future careers. To begin with, those in opposition to taking academic courses argue that there is not any correlation between studying these subjects and applying them to their careers. Firstly, most academic syllabuses consist of theoretical contents, which deal with more specific elements, rather than practical skills required in a career. This is because most pupils’ ultimate goal is entering a prestigious university, and they believe graduation from such a university leads them to secure their career success. Secondly, vocational skills and specialist knowledge can be trained during the apprenticeship period for the new workforce at the beginning of the work schedule. Thus, educators do not have to provide such professional skills to their peers. On the other hand, the issue seems mainly beneficial since many academic subjects taught in school have a great possibility for students to move up the ladder in their future careers. First of all, due to learning these courses, their knowledge can be in-depth and broaden their perspectives as a generalist. It could be instantly applied in real-career life especially when they face unexpected barriers. In addition, vocational colleges are already widespread throughout countries. In other words, all educational institutions do not focus on an integral part of academic subjects whereas certain schools are specialised in these areas. Thus, there are various options that can help going students join the workforce smoothly, to be trained according to their levels and needs. In conclusion, although practical skills are demanded in the job market, students should learn academic subjects for their future careers. Hence, people should not underestimate the value of academic education.