Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people think that it is the responsibility of producers and suppliers to reduce product packaging, others feel that the responsibility lies with the customer. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument. On one hand, I believe that companies do have a significant responsibility to limit the amount of packaging that they package their production goods in. One reason for this is that many consumers have very little awareness about the negative impacts that excessive amounts of product packaging are having on the environment; therefore, manufacturers and supermarkets need to minimise the amount of plastic packaging that is used to store and sell their products, or preferably use only biodegradable, recyclable, or environmentally friendly materials. In addition, many people cannot afford to be selective about which products they buy, which is a further reason why all companies need to be more responsible. On the other hand, individuals also have the authority to protect the environment from further destruction and pollution by limiting their consumption of products that are packaged in non-biodegradable materials. By boycotting certain products from manufacturers that are not environmentally responsible, consumers can put pressure on these groups to change their attitude towards the materials that they use to package their products. As a result, companies will be forced to act more environmentally responsible by changing and reducing product packaging. Consumers have the power to bring about change, but must act together in order for it to happen. In conclusion, groups and individuals both need to take duty for the amount of packaging that is used to package goods. The government also needs to play a significant role in this issue by creating and enforcing laws that companies must adhere to with regard to plastic packaging, and by educating individuals about the environmental destruction and pollution caused by packaging waste.