Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that governments should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the number of flights increase at an incredible pace due to affordable tickets. Some people opine that government should tax airlines in order to raise their prices. In this essay I intend to examine the question from different perspectives and then give my opinion. It is irrefutable that the highest usage of aeroplanes affects air quality. These days the majority of people can afford to use this way of transportation because it seems to be more convenient, fast and cheaper than in the yesteryears. Therefore, this tendency leads to an excessive amount of pollution and noise. For instance, the exhaust fumes created by planes affect air quality while fuel used for flight is one of the biggest pollutants nowadays. Also, building of more airports is heavy industry and undoubtedly has adverse effects and nature. On the other hand, this tendency allows low-income people to travel around the world and abroad holidays are no longer big ticket items. Hence, if government try to tax them heavily this could be seen as discrimination for them to travel. Therefore, this will create tension between citizens and further increase the gap between the rich and the poor. Moreover, going on a holiday helps individuals to broaden their horizons and to increase their knowledge about other cultures. I firmly believe that people even should be encouraged to explore foreign territories and thus they can implement developments that they had seen in other countries in their own. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that I disagree with the supplied notion and despite the disadvantages described above anyone should have the opportunity to travel.