Some people think learning history in school is important. Others think learning subjects more relevant to life is important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to the Chinese saying,’ Apply what you have learned.’ People should focus on knowledge that is practical. In my opinion, instead of studying history which seldom applies in life, learning subjects related to life in school is more efficient and helps you earn more money. Eventually, by accumulating skills and experiences that are relevant to life, people ’s living quality can be enhanced. It is understandable to some extent why some people believe that learning history in school is important. Since history is a part of our life and origin, people who learn history tend to be more respectful of our homeland and are willing to spend time improving it. For instance, one of my friends from the history department studied indigenous people and then devoted himself to the promotion of the tribe’s culture. Moreover, he influenced and educated us to care more about our ancestors and land, eventually making improvements to the whole society. Therefore, learning history not only can help people understand their own culture, but also help promote it to others. However, I still believe that it is important for students to learn a skill to provide for themselves within a short period of time. Subjects that are job-related, such as mathematics, English, and management can easily help you find a job and double your earnings. For example, most of my friends who graduated from these departments find a job soon immediately. While those who study relatively unpopular subjects, like art, history and philosophy often transferred to other departments or apply for masters in different majors. Overall, studying a major that is related to life or the market helps you stay longer in the field and ultimately save a fortune. In conclusion, while learning history can arouse people ’s awareness of their origins, overall, in my opinion, having the ability to survive and have a better life is more important.