The natural resources such as oil, forests and fresh water are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does it cause? How can we solve these problems?

People have been consuming a considerable amount of natural resources including oil, forests, and clean water, leading to a variety of problems. However, several measures could be implemented to alleviate these issues. Several problems are emerging with a decrease in oil, forests, and freshwater. Firstly, people tend to drive their cars to work on workdays, releasing a large amount of carbon dioxide since most cars’ energy comes from oil instead of electricity. This exacerbates global warming, a major environmental problem nowadays. At the same time, deforestation has been destroying forests, which can absorb a significant amount of carbon dioxide and therefore help mitigate the impacts of global warming. The decrease in forests worsens global warming, resulting in the loss of habitats for various animals. Moreover, the overuse of freshwater has caused severe water shortages in many parts of the world, and residents in those countries are struggling with a lack of fresh water, which is an urgent issue in the contemporary world. To address these issues, several steps could be taken by both governments and individuals. On the government's level, stringent policies must be made to limit the production of oil, and companies cutting down trees without permission should be penalized. Governments should also sponsor high-tech companies which could distill water from the sea, and transport the distilled water to people who are in need. For individuals, by taking public transportation more, helping plant trees as well as saving water at home or in public places, we can mitigate those problems mentioned above. In conclusion, some serious problems including global warming and water scarcity, caused by the overconsumption of important resources such as oil, forests, and water, can definitely be solved by the endeavours of both governments and individuals.