There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For school students deciding their future career path comes with a great deal of uncertainty and pressure. Family members are most usually the ones who set very high educational standards and most often become the decision makers of their children. Those bearing high expectations, academically weak subjects are considered unnecessary, while for those with smaller expectations subjects such as gardening and music are believed to be beneficial. In my opinion, every subject regardless of its academic challenge should be of equal importance and students shall be the ones deciding what is more appealing to them. On one hand, every parent wishes to provide the best they can to ensure a better future for their successors and most people are brought up believing academic subjects yield more successful futures. Hence why some people argue that scientific and theoretical subjects are more of a priority. Indeed, in order to become a doctor or a lawyer, one has to undertake maths, physics, chemistry or history, Latin and ethics among others. For example, my cousin who is now an oculoplastic surgeon never had to do physical education, yet she is now a very well-paid worker. On the contrary, such educationally rigorous programmes are not the paradigm and certainly do not guarantee comfortable and happy life. A large number of actors and singers who are dominating the worlds’ stages came from very poor backgrounds and quite a few grew up with only just grounding education. For instance, the pop artist Nicki Minaj who grew up in a country stricken by poverty and who had to work in very low-paid jobs, has managed to make a world-leading career in singing and entertainment. In conclusion, the type of subjects taught at school should not function as future career predictors. I believe that it is equally important for school curricula to provide scientific, theoretical as well as subjects like music and gardening.