Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Human lifestyle has drastically changed over a few decades owing to technological advancements in this contemporary world. People, nowadays have less time to spend on hobbies and this notion is detrimental to the person and society as a whole. The light will be casted on reasons and effects it has in the forthcoming paragraphs along with my opinion. There are two major reasons why hobbies are gradually waning these days. Firstly, youth are so fascinated by the internet and gadget that they love to spend their leisure time with the digital world. In bygone days, people used internet for their professional works and acquiring knowledge, while new generation uses it for rejuvenating their mind. They love to be in virtual life than living in reality. Social platforms such as Facebook, Whatsapp, Instagram has become a platform where they interact with family and friends. Increasing digital addiction has resultant in decreasing time for leisure activities. Moreover, people have materialistic approach towards life. They want to have more and more, which is why, they need to work round the clock and often ends up having no time for themselves and their families. This is another major reason why people cut down their time on hobbies. Although, these advancements are for the betterment of the society, it is detrimental to the people as well. The reduction in physical activity is one of the imperative impacts that can be seen in this technological era. Folks have become couch potato as they spend all their time in front of laptop, internet and mobile phones. Consequently, it would lead to unbalanced lifestyle and makes them victim of diseases like obesity, depression, anxiety, cardiovascular and blood pressure. Similarly, in case of working professionals, stress and frustration can be commonly seen which reflects in terms of productivity at workplace as they are not being able to get rid out of monotonous life. Even after working for longer hours, they are told by their superiors that they are inefficient to do task. In conclusion, the revolution in technology and materialistic approach has major contribution towards plummeted leisure time. Everyone is aware of the negative impacts it does, yet they are not involve themselves in some sort of physical activity. So, it is advisable that everyone should allocate time for hobbies that soothes their mind as it would help them to lead a stress-free and healthy life.