Sometimes it is better not to tell the truth. Give your opinion

Probably everybody would agree that telling the truth is the right thing to do. However, sometimes there is only a fine line between being honest and being rude or being polite and lying. Telling the truth may not be socially acceptable in every situation. In my view, it can sometimes be wiser and more socially acceptable not to frankly tell the truth to everybody. First of all, we can damage our own reputation and goals with perfect honesty at all times. For example, it may not be a good idea to criticize your superior in public or draw attention to your own mistakes. In both cases it may be more intelligent to avoid commenting on the subject than telling{“to tell” gives a more parallel structure} the truth. Furthermore, unconditional frankness may hurt other people‘s feelings. Our truthful comments may be considered impolite or offending. Even in a close relationship speaking the truth can come across [as] discouraging and lead to conflicts. Overall, brutal honesty is not the best prerequisite for successful social interaction. Therefore, every group and society has their own rules of what level of directness and honesty is acceptable. For newcomers it can be quite challenging to understand these implicit rules. Social[ly] acceptable behaviour can be valued more than the truth. In conclusion, telling the truth can be a bad choice for us and other people in some situations. It can be more socially acceptable to not give an opinion or even lie. Certainly, this finding should not be used as an excuse to lie in general. It is all about finding the delicate balance between being honest and being rude.