Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that older people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of the debate and reach your own conclusion.

Allowing senior citizens to cohabit with their children and grandchildren is traditionally inclined as opined by some persons, while others are in support that older people should live on their own without interference from family members. This essay will X-ray both sides of the coin and the conclusions reached with pragmatic reasons. To begin with, allowing elders to live with family members is traditional in some cultures. This will give emotional support to the aged. For instance, in cases of bereavement when the older person needs psychological support from family members. Moreover, if the older person is having health challenges, the children will be able to care for him or her by taking them to the hospital, prompting them to take their medications and go for appointments. In addition, more security is provided for the elderly. For example, the elderly will be protected against crime and accidents by his or her household. Furthermore, it is more economical for the children to have their parents live with them hence it will increase the quality of life of the aged. In contrast, older adults living alone are more independent, self-reliant and have self-esteem. They do not rely on others before they perform the activities of daily living. For instance, bathing, grooming, washing and lots more. Also, the family may not have enough space and or time to accommodate them. Moreover, living separately allows families to visit grandparents which is always fun and the memories linger for a long period on them. In conclusion, it is better to leave alone, provided that health and finances allow this.