Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth of low cost passenger flights often to holiday destinations. Some people say that governments should try to reduce air travel by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

It is well known that the more air traffic exists around the world, the more consequences the population has to face. For this reason, many people argue that states should increase ticket prices by taxing them more heavily. In my opinion, I believe that this proposal could be beneficial for the environment and could grow the economy of the country. Nowadays, there are a vast number of flights every day that have a direct impact on the CO2 emissions that planes throw into the atmosphere. If governments increase prices, a lower number of people will use this means of transport because of its high cost, which will reduce the number of flights and air pollution as well. For example, over a week, flights could be reduced to a half and the air quality could see an improvement. In addition, if governments would maintain this measure, after a considerable period of time, the atmosphere could be repaired and people could enjoy a healthy and fresh environment. Furthermore, with this taxing, governments could increase their economy and grow as a nation. When governments collect money through taxes, such as food, fuel, or shopping, then, they invest this funding in other services such as hospitals, health, or education. For example, in many countries, there is free health thanks to the taxes that are collected in other facilities. If states set up measures to collect more money through plane tickets, they will have more budget to distribute in facilities that are required. To conclude, I maintain that increasing plane tickets by taxation could be a great measure in order to reduce CO2 emissions and contribute to the well-being of people and grow the economy of the country to expand its budget to distribute it in other facilities that are required. If states would consider this measure, it is also worth taking into account reviewing people ’s salaries in order to avoid the drawbacks of this policy.