Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

With the increasing population, poverty and inflation in countries, a major part of the public tends to work long hours to meet the growing cost of living. However, the downside of this is that it leads people to have fewer recreational periods and exposes them to potential sicknesses. This situation has created more problems for the population, such as poor work-life balance and life-threatening health risks for the general public. Firstly, having to work long schedules will certainly help maintain the standard of living, but the problem would affect the social season of most people. Leisure is an important aspect of society because it calms and helps the mind relax after many days of busy schedules. For example, a young graduate might have an unbalanced work-leisure relationship if pressured to work more to pay his rent or utility bills in a big city. As a result, he replaces his leisure term to complete more tasks at the office. Undoubtedly, when this period is replaced with more responsibilities, individuals will have to alter their work-life harmony, which can be stressful. Secondly, living an entirely stressful day can pose health risks to the masses. Most doctors advise the public to sleep for at least 8 hours a day and encourage them to engage in physical activities, including exercise, sports, or even relaxation, to keep the body in shape. But when this is ignored, health risks such as weight gain, trauma, and stress may arise, pushing the body into life-threatening situations. Besides, working for the long term can reduce their social interactions with their family and friends. For instance, a young CEO that refuses to check high levels of stress and weight gain might be diagnosed with more chronic diseases such as diabetes or high blood pressure in the future. Consequently, recreational activities are important in maintaining working-class individuals' mental and physical well-being. In conclusion, there's no doubt that working a long time can be beneficial in paying high salaries. Unfortunately, when people are overworked, it shatters their work-leisure harmony and exposes them to potentially deadly diseases. Therefore, the importance of having a balanced life must be considered for the working-class population.