Many studies have shown that most criminals have a low level of education. Some people say that to reduce the crime rate, criminals must be educated within prisons. It will improve their prospects of employment when they are released. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is known that lawbreakers often have inadequate education so the provision of courses in prisons can help them find jobs after being released and ensure a decrease in crime rate. I agree with this issue that prisoners should be taught to become more knowledgeable. It is true that every criminal has a different living environment and family background which could make them not able to study at school and this might be a reason why they commit crimes. For example, being born into parental violence and abuse, children tend to become arrogant, rebellious individuals and commit crimes the same as their parents do. Therefore, education in prisons is an effective measure to enlighten their minds and lead them towards a moral compass and better tracks. These offenders might feel guilty about their previous criminal activities, and try to resolve their mistakes by doing good actions and perhaps transmitting their lessons to younger prisoners. Moreover, the most essential reason is that the provisions of courses at trials help prisoners look for job opportunities after being released. For instance, some volunteering activities within prisons such as wall painting, house decoration and erection can be beneficial to ex-offenders accumulation of professional skills to become manual builders. Besides, the purpose of education would make them more confident, and experienced in their areas of interest so that they can do a job and earn money instead of facing unemployment and continuing to commit crimes again as they did before. In conclusion, the arrival of courses in prisons not only teaches criminals ethical values to reduce the crime rate but also helps these ex-prisoners obtain a variety of working skills and practical experiences for their own jobs later.