Some people think the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others think that it is the responsibility of the individuals to protect themselves. Discuss both sides

During all time, laws and rules around the world have changed and varied. Society has divided into two parts, where some people believe that government should face all criminal issues, but others claim that everyone ought to care about their protection by themselves. On the one hand, the government is a well-developed institution with a wide range of responsibilities, the main one is directed at protecting citizens and making their lives better. Power cannot exist without accountability, and not every law-abiding person can secure themselves, people just do not have as many resources and power as the government can offer. Moreover, the police, as a tool of the government, are always neutral in every conflict, unlike people who have a personal subjective point of view and cannot judge each other objectively. If the government is not involved in citizens' lives, this could be the beginning of never-ending chaos in society, and the crime rate in the state will increase. As a result, when a country is under the control of the government, life in that place is usually more peaceful and stable. On the other hand, there are many cases where people cannot rely on the government. In some states, prisoners can literally buy their freedom due to the corruption of the police. Therefore, potential victims are forced to deal with the situation themselves. In addition, most crimes usually have already been committed before the police will know about it, furthermore, they cannot prevent many offences for different reasons. Usually, a lot of successful investigations are conducted by people since the police occasionally do not take most of the complaints seriously. Thus, the government cannot give a hundred per cent guarantee that they are able to protect citizens, so people have to learn to be more independent in solving their problems. In conclusion, life cannot be stable without the involvement of the government. However, people should not take it for granted and, just in case, be prepared to struggle for their rights themselves.