Success is often associated with the achievement of the wealth, position, honors, or fame that have come about through hard work. On the other hand, some people seem to achieve success accidentally, by being in the right place at the right time. Is success in life earned or do people succeed just because they are lucky?

Success is mainly correlated with the possession of wealth, jobs, awards, and popularity through hard work and persistence. In contrast, some people argue that luck is often the main reason for such achievements. This essay will explain both perspectives and highlight how strong determination can lead to a successful life. On the one hand, people without qualifications still can achieve success in their life due to connections and birth lottery, which means that they have the privilege of more access and opportunities. To illustrate, a CEO from a well-established company could easily hire their children to work at the office without normal hiring procedures. As they can skip a highly rigid selection, they can start their new life easier compared to most fresh graduates looking for such chances. This means that job acceptance, which usually reflects career achievements, is not always measured by competencies. On the other hand, I would argue that personality traits such as ambition, determination, and persistence are the main keys to gaining success. Firstly, a person who continuously work hard on a daily basis will be able to sharpen their skills in the long run. For example, if a typical employee keeps learning how to elevate their work performance, their boss will be able to see their potential and talents, thus it might lead to a promotion. Although it might take some time to climb the ladder, such efforts will positively impact their progress in their professional career. Additionally, a person who work extremely hard to uplift their life is usually capable to evaluate on their decisions. Consequently, they can assess themselves to avoid the same mistake and they will have a better chance of success in the future. In conclusion, while some people argue that luck is a major reason for success, I believe that a person who tries their best in every circumstance will be rewarded with success in the long run. Therefore, I remain convinced that people need to glorify the practice of working endlessly as opposed to relying on luck.