Nowadays people prefer to shop in large supermarkets rather than nearby local shops. Why do you think this is happening? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Buying from the supermarkets in comparison with small local shops become common in this era. The reason behind this tendency is less price and variety of products available in the supermarket. Although I accept that there are some drawbacks to this phenomenon, I believe it is a constructive approach. In my view, there are two disadvantages of buying from the supermarket,and the prominent one is an inconvenience for certain people. This is because people with some physical disabilities are unable to drive to the supermarket. Hence, they choose to buy from the nearby shops. To illustrate, wheelchair people like to shop from the local shops in order to have an easy access to the products they require. Apart from this, multiple brands of one particular product available in the big shopping centres make people confused. When people want to have one item, they have several brands in front of their eyes claiming the best quality, and many more factors. Therefore, they are not able to make quick decisions which again time-consuming. Despite the demerits mentioned above, I would argue that the merits of shopping in the supermarket are outweighed by the demerits. Firstly, supermarkets have an opportunity to buy various good products at once from the same place. For instance, the survey was done by a student in the university of Waikato in New Zealand, have found that 80% of the people buy from the supermarkets, and only 20% buy only from small shops. Secondly, several manufactureanufacturing companies are promoting their new items at lowest cost to allure customers. This is due to the fact that the famous brands sell their items with some other promotional options to continue their sales. While, it seems to me that the potential benefits of buying from supermarkets are more evident than the possible drawbacks due to certain facts. As a result, it is definitely a constructive approach.