Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Other think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been argued that constructing wider and better roads is the most productive way to diminish traffic jams. However, I believe that if government spend money in order to build train and subway lines, reducing traffic congestion will become more effective. On the one hand, the government rely on road widening to ease connection. First, traffic jams can be reduced with an increase in road size. Because in the wider roads, numerous cars and other transports can move. Thus it is tough to find long-term runs on wide roads. Furthermore, expanding road size is cheaper than building trains and subways. Commodities that are required to construct trains and subways are more expensive to purchase. On the other hand, some people, including me, consider that building more trains and subways is a key solution to reducing traffic jams. Firstly, these kinds of public transport are capable of moving a large number of people. Requirements for it keep growing because of population. Moreover, trains are on time and safer. In trains, people always go to particular places at the right time and there is no chance of accidents that cause long-term runs. To sum up, although wider roads may be one possible solution, in my opinion, effective and lasting solutions to the problem of traffic congestion involve improved train and subway services.