Present a written argument or case to an educated non-specialist audience on the following topic: Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

The law in both the United kingdom and Australia prohibits juries to get information on the defendant's past criminal records by doing this they believe it protects offenders from being accused and giving them a fair verdict, however, some lawyers think it's more reasonable to get the full picture before making the final decision, I personally agree with the last statement as knowing the past, can provide more fairness those who were never involved in criminal activity and also give the juries better prospective on the situation. To begin with, when someone has in the past had a criminal recored they shouldn't be treated like those who commited commit crimes for the first time as they should get an additional punishment for breaking laws twice or as many times as they did, thus, its essential to get a recored recorded for the past facts, for instance, if 2 different people were to assult 2 others and they both got the same amount of damge done, but the first had covicted many crimes whereas the other has a clean record the first should be sentenced to more time as he didn't learn from his past mistakes, if this hypothetical case were to happen in both the contries we're talking about it woudn't be fair for the second person with no past crime records. In addition, knowing the persons history can give those making the desicion a better view because in many cases it's difficult for the juries to give the right and fair choice, therefore, having all the past actions can help clear things and make the final call, based the example provided in the last paragraph, it would be easier to provide justice if they knew the past, on the other hand, if they were both presented to the juries with not mentioning there past convictions it would be harder for them to make up there minds as they might consider that one may have never commited somthing bad while the other did, thererfore, they might start thinking that justice is not going to get served. To sum up, its crucial for, juries to put in consideration the past events of criminals as it provides them with more evidence wich can help come up the right saying about there crimes and will also give offer justice to those who have no past flaws.