some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. others think that the true function of university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. what, in your opinion, should be the main function of the university.

Improving students’ knowledge has been the most important function of a university degree, which gives them ground for their professional development. While some people believe that workspace skills should be acquired during the graduation process, others trust that graduates can only focus on the theoretical aspects of the courses. In my opinion, universities’ main utility must be teaching the theory otherwise students will be considered unprepared for their professional life. First and foremost, individuals that have enrolled on an academic course will normally finish them within four years, which can be highly demanding even for those who do not work. In other words, they must concentrate energy on absorbing as many theoretical concepts as possible in class, without which nobody could properly succeed professionally. For example, when companies are selecting new employees who applied for a position, tests are required to demonstrate what they had learned at the university level. Therefore, spending precious time developing professional skills during graduation is less significant than focusing on the theory of the curses. Additionally, skills needed in the workplace can be acquired at work, so the academy is not essential for this. However, the opposite idea is totally unlikely to happen, because employers are not going to waste their time teaching theory to new employees. For instance, many companies have been offering internship programs in which graduates can both work and finish their college degrees at the same time, so they can quickly develop. To summarize, if a student had acquired full knowledge of the theoretical aspects of their profession during their academic years, they have completely prepared themselves to succeed in their career path. In conclusion, the university is the greatest place to access enough knowledge of specific careers. Many people argue that students should acquire workplace skills during their courses, however, doing so could actually make them unprepared for the future.