In some countries, ordinary citizens are allowed to keep a gun in their houses. Some people think this is a good idea, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Once there was a time when guns and other weapons were supposed to be possessed by only a few elites and relevant people. At present, there exist some countries, where inhabitants are allowed to have a gun in their homes regardless of the debate whether to have it or not. This essay disagrees with the view to keep a gun in homes owing to its various cons rather than the pros. Peoples usually prefer to keep a gun in their homes considering it as their right citing multiple reasons. This is a very common practice in the less developed areas that are more vulnerable to law and order situation, where snatching, and robbery is very common. Since People don’t want to lose their valuable assets like mobiles, cash, and purses, and hence consider having a gun for their resistance and even use it when applicable for self-defense. For instance, in Karachi Pakistan, there has been a remarkable reduction in the crime rate once the public used guns while protecting themselves from robbery. However, the trend of having guns in the home needs to be opposed and discouraged. Since such practice tends to turn the countries into a state of lawlessness, and no one bothers to follow the rule of law. Furthermore, such patterns are supposed to have detrimental effects on young people as well, since they practice what they see around them. This practice not only threatens the peace of societies but also gives birth to numerous ills of societies like violation, and extremism. For example, there has been a sharp increase in mass shooting incidents in the USA where it is permitted by law to have a gun in the homes. To conclude, there should be a complete ban on having guns in the home, since there might be a few advantages of it but such practices tend to harm the system in the long run and hence should be discouraged to the full extent.