The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Online shopping has rapidly grown recently causing closure of some shops. So it is argued that eventually offline stores will be wiped out and people will buy all goods on the Internet. I definitely disagree with the previous statement and this essay will elaborate on my point of view. Firstly, traditional shops have an essential benefit that a person can come and touch, smell, try on a thing. It is easier to make a decision about a purchase if you see a product in real life because sometimes online ordering can be unpleasantly surprising. There is a risk that a good can have worse quality or slightly different size or colour than on a picture on a website. Additionally, a human factor plays a significant role, for instance, inappropriate delivery conditions could damage an order or a market employee can send something completely different. Secondly, online shopping might be inconvenient for elderly people as they are not active users of the Internet. They could face obstacles to get used to new technologies and new features can confuse them as well. Most of the websites do not support customizing fonts, therefore it is difficult for them to distinguish text. Moreover, a great majority of the older generation does not have computers, so online shopping is impossible for them. In conclusion, though the popularity of offline stores is in decline I am convinced they still will save their proportion in trading. There are a lot of individuals who find them much more convenient and their voices should not be ignored.